2024 OPSBA Awards

Nominations are open for the 2024 OPSBA Awards
Posted on 02/09/2024

Do you know someone extraordinary—a teacher, education worker, school administrator, trustee, student, or community member—whose exceptional contributions deserve recognition for making a significant impact in their local school or community?

Nominations for the 2024 Ontario Public School Boards’ Association (OPSBA) Awards are now open. These awards highlight and celebrate people who go above and beyond.

Nomination form

April 5, 2024 at 4:30 PM is the deadline for most awards. The Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award for Northern Ontario has a separate deadline on June 7, 2024 at 4:30 PM.

Comprehensive details about the OPSBA Awards Program are online. It is recommended you review the criteria for the OPSBA Awards before submitting a nomination. Self-nominations are permitted.

The OPSBA Awards include the following:

  • President’s Award recognizes 25 years of service in public education.
  • Jack A. MacDonald Award of Merit honours an elementary or secondary school student attending an Ontario public school who has earned a sound academic record and has shown outstanding service and leadership in his or her community.
  • Fred L. Bartlett Memorial Award is presented annually to an active or retired member of the teaching profession. The successful candidate is selected on the basis of outstanding contribution to education throughout Ontario, such as constructive participation in education affairs over a number of years or for dedication to some recent and specific project that has had provincial impact.
  • Dr. Harry Paikin Award of Merit is awarded to an active or retired public school trustee for outstanding service.
  • Achievement Award and Award of Excellence are presented by OPSBA through local boards to volunteers for outstanding, exemplary and/or unique contributions to the overall well-being of the school or community through in-school, board-wide, extra-curricular and/or volunteer activity. This award provides an opportunity to raise awareness and promote the importance of celebrating excellence and the necessity of recognizing the work of all members of the education community.
  • Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award is for dedication, commitment and an outstanding contribution to education with special recognition for Northern Ontario service.

For more information, contact Mary Adams, OPSBA Awards Coordinator, 416-340-2540, ext.101, or email [email protected].