2023 Inspiring Excellence Award recipients

Congratulations to Inspiring Excellence Award recipients
Posted on 04/20/2023
Inspiring Excellence graphic

April 20, 2023—As part of celebrations during Education Week, May 1 to 5, 2023, Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board is preparing to honour educators and support staff who have been recognized for inspiring excellence. 


Congratulations to six Inspiring Excellence Award recipients: 

  • Cairne Buchanan-Sobry, Teacher, Bird’s Creek Public School 
  • Floyd Ellis, Teacher, Trenton High School
  • Jennifer Lyons, Teacher, Prince Edward Collegiate Institute
  • Maria Murray, Educational Assistant, Prince Charles School (Belleville)
  • Mark Pye, Educational Assistant, Tyendinaga Public School
  • Tracy Thrower, Teacher, North Hastings High School

“These awards recognize HPEDSB employees who make significant contributions to student achievement and well-being through their commitment to, and leadership in, education,” said Katherine MacIver, Director of Education. “In this the first year of the Inspiring Excellence Awards, I am looking forward to congratulating each award recipient in person on May 4.”

Awards celebration

Inspiring Excellence Award recipients will be honoured and presented with their award at an upcoming celebration:

Date: Thursday, May 4, 2023
Time: 5:45 Meet & Greet Reception; 6:30 PM Awards Presentations
Location: Auditorium, Centennial Secondary School

This is the first year of these awards. Eighteen nominations were received, with six recipients selected by the review committee. A few details from each person's nomination will be shared at the awards celebration.

Thank you to the Inspiring Excellence Review Committee for their respectful and caring review of the nominations:

  • Duncan Armstrong, Councillor, City of Quinte West
  • Mackenzie Best, Representing Ontario Principals’ Council (secondary)
  • Shannon Binder, Chair of the Board
  • Tera Brough, Representing Ontario Principals’ Council (elementary)
  • Rachael Prinzen, Vice-Chair of the Board
  • Doug Thur, President, Hastings Prince Edward Occasional Teachers’ Local
  • Kerry Webb, President, CUPE 1022
  • Julia Webster, Student Trustee, Eastside Secondary School

For more information, please contact Kerry Donnell, Communications and Privacy Manager, 613-847-0696, or [email protected]