Congratulations to the 2018 Great Place Awards recipients

Congratulations to the 2018 Great Place Awards recipients
Posted on 05/17/2018

Congratulations to Great Place Awards recipients who contribute to student achievement and well-being, and who are held in high esteem through their demonstration of the Growing with Character core values.

17th Annual Great Place Awards
The Great Place Awards are the highest recognition at Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board. These prestigious awards recognize outstanding contributions by students, employees, parents and guardians, and community partners.

The 2018 Great Place Award recipients are:

  • Mary Hutchinson, Teacher, Quinte Secondary School
  • Sarah Lanovaz, Volunteer, Stirling Public School
  • Melanie Lee, Teacher, Park Dale School
  • Kelly Leveque, Volunteer, York River Public School
  • Heather Molenaar, Educational Assistant, Trenton High School
  • Lesley Morgan, Teacher, Centre Hastings Secondary School
  • Kirsten Neumann-Stephens, Teacher, Centre Hastings Secondary School
  • Randi Vierich, Volunteer, Madoc Public School
  • Jeff Walsh, Volunteer, Bayside Secondary School

Awards presentation

Award recipients will be honoured and presented with their award at a public Board meeting, as follows:

Date: Monday, May 28, 2018
Time: 7:00 p.m.
Location: Education Centre, 156 Ann Street, Belleville

The Great Place Awards Committee received 23 nominations representing employees, volunteers and community partners. The nomination criteria aligns with the Board's eight Growing with Character core values: caring, cooperation, honesty, humour, integrity, respect, responsibility and trustworthiness.

Thank you to the Great Place Awards Committee for their respectful and caring review of the nominations:

  • Delanie Austin, Student Senator, Quinte Secondary School
  • Mike Brant, School Board Trustee
  • Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer & Committee Chair
  • Saud Haseeb, Student Senator, Moira Secondary School
  • Lee-Anne Kerr, Parent Involvement Committee Chair
  • Steve Payne, Systems Analyst, Education Centre
  • Derek Potts, Principal, Deseronto Public School
  • Shelley Steele, Safe Schools Supervisor, Education Centre
  • Wendy Sutherland, Safe Schools Child & Youth Worker
  • Susan Sweet, The Hastings and Prince Edward Learning Foundation
  • Doug Thur, President, Hastings and Prince Edward Occasional Teachers' Local
  • Tanya Whittaker, Vice-principal, Harry J. Clarke Public School
  • Jim Williams, School Board Trustee

For more information, please contact:
Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer, 613-966-1170 or 1 800 267-4350, extension 2354, [email protected]