Commend the 2010 Great Place Award recipients

Congratulations to seven individuals who support student success and who are held in high esteem through their demonstration of Growing with Character.

9th Annual Great Place Awards
The Great Place Awards are the highest form of recognition within Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board. These prestigious awards recognize outstanding contributions by students, staff, parents and guardians, and community partners.
The 2010 Great Place Award recipients are:
  • Jan Bruce, Volunteer, Madoc Public School
  • Melanie Burton, Student, Moira Secondary School
  • Colleen Drew-Baehre, Teacher, North Hastings High School
  • Jennifer Reid, Teacher, Trenton High School
  • Ronald Sills, Lead Hand Custodian, Stirling Primary School
  • Valerie Wilson, Volunteer, Stirling Primary School
  • Emily Young, Teacher, Bayside Secondary School
 “The nominations submitted for the Great Place Awards were all impressive. The winners are representatives of our school community who are all committed to the welfare of our students,” said Mary Hall, trustee representative and Vice-chair of the Board.
Awards presentation
Award recipients will be recognized and presented with their award at a public Board meeting, as follows:
Date: Monday, June 21, 2010
Time: 7:00 p.m.
Location: Education Centre, 156 Ann Street, Belleville
The Great Place Awards Committee received 24 nominations representing employees, volunteers, parents and guardians, and community partners. The nomination criteria was aligned with the Board’s eight character attributes: caring, cooperation, honesty, humour, integrity, respect, responsibility and trustworthiness.
Congratulations to these individuals who received an Honourable Mention: 


  • Janice Rideout, Teacher, Prince Edward Collegiate Institute
  • Paula Thompson, Student, Moira Secondary School
  • Tamela Timm, Office Assistant, Queen Elizabeth School (Picton)
  • Anna Henderson, Teacher, Madoc Township Public School
  • Betty Kuhn, In School Resource Teacher, Breadner Elementary School
  • Laurie Dodson, Special Education Department Head, North Hastings High School
  • Michael Godin, Sean Pudlis and Terry Weinert, Teachers, Bayside Secondary School
  • Lyle Johnston, Teacher, Bayside Secondary School
  • Ron Sweet, Volunteer and Community Partner, Quinte West Red Cross
  • Diane Percy, Parent and Volunteer, Coe Hill School
  • Joan Anderson, Volunteer, Harmony Public School
  • Ray Bush and Carl Davis, Custodians, Bayside Secondary School
  • Paul Taylor, Frink Centre Coordinator, H.R. Frink Outdoor Education Centre
  • Greg Garrett, Vice-principal, Moira Secondary School
  • Christine Burgess, Head Secretary, Foxboro Public School
  • Don Cooper, Volunteer and Occasional Teacher, Queen Elizabeth Public School (Trenton)
  • Richard Long, Math Department Head, Centennial Secondary School

Thank you to the Great Place Awards Committee for their respectful and caring review of the nominations:

  • Karen Chow, Elementary Occasional Teacher Representative
  • Paul Covert, Parent Representative
  • Frank Gielen, The Hastings and Prince Edward Learning Foundation Representative
  • Mary Hall, Trustee Representative
  • Sue McKeown, Office Supervisor, Centre Hastings Secondary School, Administrative Support Group Representative
  • Karen Morrow, Teacher, Bayside Secondary School and OSSTF Representative
  • Steven Payne, Systems Analyst, CUPE Representative
  • Tonia Shelmerdine, Vice-principal, Stirling Primary School, Ontario Principals’ Council Representative

Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board serves approximately 16,800 students each day at 46 elementary and eight secondary schools. Supporting student achievement is the goal of approximately 1,800 teaching and support staff who, in addition to the contributions of caring volunteers and community partners, share their passion for teaching and learning. The district covers a wide geographical area of 7,221 square kilometres bordered by Maynooth to the north, Deseronto to the east, Prince Edward County to the south and Quinte West to the west.

For more information, please contact:
Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer, 613-966-1170 or 1 800 267-4350, extension 2354, [email protected]


Last updated: June 2, 2010 at 2:41 pm
Powered by Translate