Chair and vice-chair re-elected for another term

picture of the chair and vice-chair
Congratulations to Dwayne Inch, re-elected as Chair of the Board, and Dave Patterson, re-elected to Vice-chair of the Board. Each will serve in these roles for a one-year term.

Trustee Dwayne Inch was re-elected as chair of the Board and Dave Patterson was re-elected as vice-chair of the Board at the annual public Board meeting held Monday, December 2, 2013. The chair and vice-chair are elected annually at the December meeting.

Inch expressed appreciation to fellow Board members for placing their trust in him.

“Over the last year as Chair I have been well supported. To my fellow trustees, thank you for believing in me. I tell people as often as I can of the privilege it is to work with each of you. Over the last couple of weeks it has been very rewarding to open two new schools in Stirling and Tweed. To feel the energy and see the excitement from those students and staff brings life to our work. Student achievement continues to be our top priority as we make decisions to renew facilities and govern Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board.

Patterson, in his remarks on being re-elected as vice-chair, referenced the human connection and the connection to learning.

“We are a human organization. We deal with people, with communities and each other. I have learned much from you and appreciate you helping me to learn, and for us to venture into areas where we have not gone—in governance, technology, and in our very ability to be accountable to the public,” Patterson noted.

Inch was first elected to the Board in December 2006 and was acclaimed as a school board trustee in the October 2010 municipal election. He was appointed Board chair in June 2011, and was re-elected to that role in December 2011, 2012 and 2013.

Inch represents South Prince Edward County, with the following schools in his electoral area:
• Athol-South Marysburgh Public School
• Pinecrest Memorial Elementary School
• Queen Elizabeth School (Picton)
• Prince Edward Collegiate Institute

Patterson was first elected to the Board in the October 2010 municipal election. He was elected as Board vice-chair in December 2012 and re-elected to that role in December 2013.

Patterson represents Belleville/Thurlow, with the following schools in his electoral area:
• Foxboro Public School
• Harmony Public School
• Harry J. Clarke Public School
• Hillcrest School
• Park Dale School
• Prince of Wales Public School
• Prince Charles School (Belleville)
• Queen Elizabeth School (Belleville)
• Queen Victoria School
• Sir John A. Macdonald School
• Centennial Secondary School
• Moira Secondary School
• Quinte Secondary School

Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board serves approximately 15,300 students each day at 39 elementary and eight secondary schools. Supporting student achievement is the goal of approximately 1,800 teaching and support staff who, in addition to the contributions of caring volunteers and community partners, share their passion for teaching and learning.

For more information, please contact:
Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer, 613-966-1170 or 1 800 267-4350, extension 2354, [email protected]


Last updated: December 4, 2013 at 8:57 am
Powered by Translate