- Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board (HPEDSB) - http://www.hpedsb.on.ca -

Submit a nomination for 2012 Educator of the Year

Nominations are being accepted for the 2012 Educator of the Year. [1] This award, also known as the Sir Mackenzie Bowell Award, is presented to a person who has demonstrated meritorious service to education in Hastings County or Prince Edward County.

The nominee can be a teacher, daycare provider, a tutor or a coach . . . anyone who is an educator and is active in education during the current school year.

Date: Thursday, May 10, 2012
Time: To follow
Location: Bay of Quinte Golf & Country Club, 1830 Old Hwy#2, Belleville

Submissions are due by 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, April 19, 2012 in care of: Albert College, Attention: Educator of the Year Committee, 160 Dundas Street West, Belleville, Ontario K8P 1A6 or fax to Educator of the Year Committee at 613-968-9651.

The Educator of the Year Committee has been celebrating outstanding educators in Hastings County and Prince Edward County since 1967.

Sir Mackenzie Bowell (1823 – 1917) was a strong supporter of education and an active promoter of Hastings County. Bowell was elected to the Belleville Board of Education and served as chairperson of that board from 1856 to 1867. He served as editor and proprietor of The Intelligencer for many years and helped form the Belleville Board of Trade (Chamber of Commerce) in 1865. In his editorials, he stressed education as a key to development and championed the growth of Belleville and Hastings County as a whole. Politically, he distinguished himself as a federal cabinet member, a senator, and Canada’s fifth prime minister (1894 – 1896).

For information, please contact:
Sandy Smith, Community Engagement Coordinator, 613-966-1170 or 1 800 267-4350, extension 2270