Programs

May 4th is Music Monday

Celebrate music in Belleville at Market Square from 12:30 – 1:10 p.m. Teacher Dave Reed and the Centennial Secondary School vocalists will lead the assembled schools in Sing, Sing, this year’s Music Monday song written by Serena Ryder. All will be singing this song as part of the Canada-wide celebration of music in our lives at 1:00 p.m. Celebrations are also taking place in Bancroft, Bird’s Creek, Deseronto and many other district schools.

About Music Monday
Music Monday is a special demonstration of our love of music—in our lives and in our schools. On the first Monday of May each year, students and teachers take their music programs outside into the open air of their school grounds or into their communities, to perform a short concert. There are outdoor concerts across the country, from the elementary level right through to secondary schools, some small celebrations, some large. Some will perform on their own; others will collaborate with local schools and organizations. Many community and professional organizations and ensembles are also involved, along with musicians and artists across the country.

The magic of the event is that at the same point during that day, that is, at 10:00 a.m. Pacific time, 11:00 a.m. Mountain time, 12:00 p.m. Central time, 1:00 p.m. Eastern time, 2:00 p.m. Atlantic time, and 2:30 in Newfoundland, schools across the country are united by one piece of music. Simple and inspiring, this melody is provided to schools in a variety of arrangements suitable for primary choirs through to senior high school bands and ensembles. In short, it is a piece of music that transcends all genres and unites everyone through the melody and the act of performing it at the same time. The idea is that if one were to open the front door of his or her home and stand on the street on the first Monday in May, one would hear music and the skies would be filled with melody.
 

Posted Monday, May 4, 2009

For more information, please contact: 
• Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer, 613-966-1170 or 1 800 267-4350, ext. 2354

Last updated: May 4, 2009 at 8:11 am