Congratulations to Great Place Award recipients

Congratulations to Great Place Award winners who support student achievement and who are held in high esteem through their demonstration of Growing with Character.

11th Annual Great Place Awards
The Great Place Awards are the highest form of recognition within Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board. These prestigious awards recognize outstanding contributions by students, staff, parents and guardians, and community partners.

The 2012 Great Place Award recipients are:

  • Cassidy Allison, Student, Prince Edward Collegiate Institute
  • Beth Calwell, Parent, Moira Secondary School
  • Joseph Coolen, Lead Hand Custodian, Tweed Hungerford Senior Public School
  • Cathy Dafoe, Guidance Secretary, Moira Secondary School
  • Nancy Etmanski, Educational Assistant, Prince Edward Collegiate Institute
  • Patricia Malott, Teacher, Queen Victoria School
  • Stephen McFadden, Teacher & Coach, Madoc Public School
  • Diane Percy, Volunteer & School Council Chair, Coe Hill School
  • Diana Sheridan, Teacher, Hermon Public School
  • Police officers who work as school response officers
    • Bancroft Ontario Provincial Police: Constable Susanne Cox
    • Belleville Police Service: Constables Miranda Orr and Hans Verbeek
    • Central Hastings Ontario Provincial Police: Constable Terry Briard
    • Napanee Ontario Provincial Police: Constable Del Wannamaker
    • Prince Edward Ontario Provincial Police: Constables Kim Guthrie and Nicole Lott
    • Quinte West Ontario Provincial Police: Constables Lonne Foeller and David Snider
    • Stirling-Rawdon Police Service: Constables Scott Burke and Darrin Heasman

“All the nominations told wonderful stories about the person being nominated and how he or she has contributed to student achievement. The committee had a challenging task to review each one, then through discussion, determine which would become finalists," said Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer and committee chair.

Awards presentation

Award recipients will be recognized and presented with their award at a public Board meeting, as follows:

Date: Monday, May 28, 2012
Time: 7:00 p.m.
Location: Education Centre, 156 Ann Street, Belleville

The Great Place Awards Committee received 28 nominations representing students, employees, volunteers, parents/guardians and community partners. The nomination criteria aligns with the Board’s eight character attributes: caring, cooperation, honesty, humour, integrity, respect, responsibility and trustworthiness.

Thank you to the Great Place Awards Committee for their respectful and caring review of the nominations:

  • Christine Blakely, Child & Youth Counsellor
  • Karen Chow, President, Hastings & Prince Edward Occasional Teachers’ Local
  • Paul Covert, Parent Involvement Committee Chair
  • Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer and Committee Chair
  • Frank Gielen, The Hastings and Prince Edward Learning Foundation
  • Cynthia Gao, Student Senator, Bayside Secondary School
  • Thelma Goodfellow, Trustee
  • Sue McKeown, Office Supervisor, Centre Hastings Secondary School
  • Karen Morrow, Teacher, Bayside Secondary School
  • Steven Payne, Systems Analyst
  • Tonia Shelmerdine, Vice-principal, Harry J. Clarke Public School
  • Adam Snider, Student Senator, Centennial Secondary School

For more information, please contact:
Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer, 613-966-1170 or 1 800 267-4350, extension 2354, [email protected]

Last updated: May 15, 2012 at 7:47 am
Powered by Translate