Congratulations to Governor General’s Academic Medal recipients for 2018-2019

July 24, 2019—Congratulations to seven secondary school students who are recipients of the Governor General’s Academic Medal.

Since 1873, the Governor General’s Academic Medal has recognized the outstanding scholastic achievements of students in Canada. It has become one of the most prestigious awards that a student in a Canadian educational institution can receive. The medal is awarded to the student graduating with the highest average from a high school, college or university.

Michael Burton, BSS
Michael Burton
Bayside Secondary School

Moira Wilson CHSS
Moira Wilson
Centre Hastings Secondary School

Sophie McPherson CSS
Sophie McPherson
Centennial Secondary School

Meera Moorthy ESS
Meera Moorthy
Eastside Secondary School

Melissa Elliott NHHS
Melissa Elliott
North Hastings High School
Amanda Johnson PECI
Amanda Johnson
Prince Edward Collegiate Institute

 Addison Walker THS
Addison Walker
Trenton High School

Pierre Trudeau, Tommy Douglas, Kim Campbell, Robert Bourassa, Robert Stanfield and Gabrielle Roy are past recipients.

Medals are presented on behalf of the Governor General by participating educational institutions, along with personalized certificates signed by the Governor General. There is no monetary award associated with the  award.

For more information, please contact:
Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer, 613-966-1170 or 1 800 267-4350, extension 62354, [email protected]

Last updated: July 24, 2019 at 11:37 am
Powered by Translate