Understanding the role of a school board trustee, April 2018

Understanding the role of a school board trustee, April 2018
Trustees and student trustees of Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board.

April 10, 2018—This is the second in a series about school board trustees. A different article will be featured each month.

DID YOU KNOW . . .that school trustees meet regularly and that the framework for Board meetings is set out in the Education Act?

Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board holds public Board meetings on the fourth Monday of every month. Meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. and agendas and minutes are posted on the HPEDSB website at www.HPEschools.ca. The public is welcome to attend these meetings.

The Board of Trustees uses Robert’s Rules of Order at meetings as the accepted parliamentary procedure to ensure orderly and productive meetings.

Trustees also attend standing committee meetings and advisory committee meetings on a regular basis, as well as ad hoc committee meetings.

Sources: Report of the Governance Review Committee to the Minister of Education of Ontario, April, 2009 and Good Governance: A Guide for Trustees, School Boards, Directors of Education and Communities, 2014.

Board of Trustees, 2014 to November 30, 2018
Board of Trustees
Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board is proud to have the following trustees: Tom Biniaris, Trenton & CFB Trenton; Mike Brant, Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte; Justin Bray, Southeast Hastings; Jennifer Cobb, North Prince Edward County; Bonnie Danes, Centre Hastings; Mary Hall, Belleville & Thurlow; Dwayne Inch, South Prince Edward County; Lucille Kyle, North Hastings & Chair of the Board; Dave Patterson, Belleville & Thurlow & Vice-Chair of the Board; Jim Williams, Frankford & Sidney.

Student Trustees
Meera Moorthy & Morgan Beatty
2017-2018 student trustees

Student trustees learn and lead at the Board table
Involving students in Board business is a valuable learning experience.

Student trustees represent student opinions at the Board level and participate actively on committees. Hearing from student trustees at Board meetings about student issues and opinions is a way to engage these leaders beyond their school community.

Student trustees have the same opportunities to participate at meetings as elected trustees although they are not Board members and do not have a binding vote. The 2017-2018 student trustees are Meera Moorthy, Moira Secondary School and Morgan Beatty, Centennial Secondary School.

For more information, please contact:
Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer, 613-966-1170 or 1 800 267-4350, extension 2354, [email protected]

Last updated: April 10, 2018 at 12:46 pm
Powered by Translate