Newsroom

Seeking input for the 2018-2019 School Year Calendar

January 18, 2018—School boards are required to establish a school year calendar for the upcoming school year, in accordance with the Education Act and Regulation 304.

Each year Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board consults with parents/guardians, students, community members and community partners prior to finalizing the dates.

The draft calendar (Pdf) proposes the following dates

  • First day of school for students: Tuesday, September 4, 2018
  • Christmas Break: Monday, December 24, 2018 to Friday, January 4, 2019
  • Mid-winter Break: Monday, March 11 to Friday, March 15, 2019
  • Seven professional activity (PA) days:
    • Friday, September 28, 2018
    • Friday, October 26, 2018
    • Friday, November 30, 2018
    • Friday, February 1, 2019
    • Friday, April 5, 2019
    • Friday, May 17, 2019
    • Friday, June 28, 2019
  • Last day of the school year: Friday, June 28, 2019
Statutory Holidays & Ministry of Education Holidays for 2018-2019
Statutory holidaysMinistry of Education School Year Calendar datesProposed dates for the
HPEDSB School Year Calendar
Labour DayMonday, September 3, 2018Same
Thanksgiving DayMonday, October 8, 2018Same
Christmas Break (inclusive)Monday, December 24, 2018 to Friday, January 4, 2019Same
Family DayMonday, February 18, 2019Same
Mid-winter Break (inclusive)Monday, March 11 to Friday, March 15, 2019Same
Good FridayFriday, April 19, 2019Same
Easter MondayMonday, April 22, 2019Same
Victoria DayMonday, May 20, 2019Same

Please provide feedback by completing the 2018-2019 School Year Calendar online form by Wednesday, February 28, 2018.

For more information, please contact:
Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer, 613-966-1170 or 1.800.267-4350, extension 2354, kdonnell@hpedsb.on.ca

Last updated: February 6, 2018 at 1:39 pm