New chair and vice-chair elected for HPEDSB

chair and vice-chair of the Board
Congratulations to Shannon Binder (L) elected as Chair of the Board and Lisa Anne Chatten elected as Vice-chair of the Board, effective December 2018 for one year.

December 4, 2018—A new chair and vice-chair of the Board have been elected for Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board.

At its initial meeting on December 3, 2018, the new Board of Trustees elected Shannon Binder as Chair of the Board and Lisa Anne Chatten as Vice-chair of the Board.

Binder expressed appreciation upon being elected and looks forward to the future.

“Being nominated for Chair of the Board took me by surprise and I am humbled by the confidence in me of the other Board members. I’m looking forward to the challenges ahead and to serving students and their families as a school board trustee,” stated Binder.

Binder was elected in the October 2018 municipal election and represents Southeast Hastings, with the following schools in her electoral area:

  • Deseronto Public School
  • Tweed Elementary School
  • Tyendinaga Public School
  • Centre Hastings Secondary School

Chatten acknowledged her interest in being a new school board trustee.

“It is an honour and a privilege to serve the public who elected me—an even further honour and privilege to be voted as vice-chair by my peers. I look forward to working together and taking positive and proactive steps together for the students of the Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board,” said Chatten.

Chatten was elected in the October 2018 municipal election and is one of two trustees representing Belleville/Thurlow, with the following schools in her electoral area:

  • Centennial Secondary School
  • Eastside Secondary School
  • Foxboro Public School
  • Harmony Public School
  • Harry J. Clarke Public School
  • Park Dale School
  • Prince of Wales Public School
  • Prince Charles School (Belleville)
  • Queen Elizabeth School (Belleville)
  • Queen Victoria School
  • Sir John A. Macdonald School
  • Susanna Moodie Elementary School

Binder and Chatten begin their duties immediately and will serve through to the end of November 2019.

In addition to Binder and Chatten, other Board members are Mike Brant, Jennifer Cobb, Bonnie Danes, Spencer Hutchison, Alison Kelly, Lucille Kyle, Kristen Parks and Michael Rush.

group photo
(L to R, back row): Mike Brant, Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte; Michael Rush, Belleville/Thurlow; Lucille Kyle, North Hastings; and Spencer Hutchison, Trenton/CFB Trenton. (L to R, middle row): Bonnie Danes, Centre Hastings; Jennifer Cobb, North Prince Edward County; Kristen Parks, Sidney/Frankford; and Alison Kelly, South Prince Edward. (L to R, front row): Mandy Savery-Whiteway, Director of Education; Shannon Binder, Southeast Hastings and Chair of the Board; and Lisa Anne Chatten, Belleville/Thurlow  and Vice-chair of the Board.

Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board (HPEDSB) serves approximately 15,000 students each day at 40 schools (33 elementary, one K-12; two 7-12 and four secondary). Supporting student achievement is the goal of approximately 1,650 teaching and support staff who, in addition to the contributions of caring volunteers and community partners, share their passion for teaching and learning.

The district covers a wide geographic area of 7,221 square kilometres bordered by Maynooth to the north, Deseronto to the east, Prince Edward County to the south and Quinte West to the west.

For more information, please contact:
Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer, 613-966-1170 or 1 800 267-4350, extension 62354, [email protected]

Last updated: December 4, 2018 at 3:48 pm
Powered by Translate