- Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board (HPEDSB) - http://www.hpedsb.on.ca -

Board Meeting Update #161: December 3, 2018

December 3, 2018—This update provides a summary of the Initial Meeting of Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board held Monday, December 3, 2018 at the Education Centre. It is an unofficial summary of the meeting; official minutes will be approved at the next meeting in January 2019.

Mandy Savery-Whiteway, Director of Education, acknowledged that the meeting is taking place on the land of the Haudenosaunee people.

This is the first meeting since the municipal election of October 2018. Accordingly, it is the initial meeting of the new Board of Trustees and was chaired by Director Savery-Whiteway until the chair of the Board was elected.

Director Savery-Whiteway read the election official returns as is required at this initial meeting. Trustees then recited declarations and oaths of allegiance in unison. The director chaired the meeting until the chair of the board was elected.


Choir performance, Centennial Secondary School, Grade 7-12

Laina Andrews, Superintendent of Education, introduced Kim Dafoe, Teacher and Choir Director, Centennial Secondary School. Over 40 students in Grades 7-12 were present and sang two pieces: “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen and “Fare Thee Well Love” by the Rankin Family.

photo of the choir
The Grade 7-12 Choir from Centennial Secondary School performed at the Initial Board Meeting on December 3, 2018, performing “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen and “Fare Thee Well Love” by the Rankin Family.

Appointment of scrutineers

Superintendents Laina Andrews and Nick Pfeiffer were appointed as scrutineers for the elections.

Appointment of the First Nations Representative for Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte

Mike Brant was reappointed as the representative for Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte.


Review of the election process and Board committees

Mandy Savery-Whiteway, Director of Education reviewed the process for elections as described in Policy 2: Governance By-laws and Standing Rules, and also reviewed the committees as described in Policy 11: Committees of the Board.

Chair of the Board

Shannon Binder was elected as Chair of the Board.

Vice-chair of the Board

Lisa Anne Chatten was elected as Vice-chair of the Board.

Congratulations to Shannon Binder (left), elected Chair of the Board and Lisa Anne Chatten, elected Vice-chair of the Board.
Board of Trustees and Student Trustees
(L to R, back row): Ryan Gentle, Trenton High School; Mike Brant, Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte; Michael Rush, Belleville/Thurlow; Lucille Kyle, North Hastings; and Spencer Hutchison, Trenton/CFB Trenton.
(L to R, middle row): Melissa Elliott, North Hastings High School; Bonnie Danes, Centre Hastings; Jennifer Cobb, North Prince Edward County; Kristen Parks, Sidney/Frankford; Alison Kelly, South Prince Edward; and Meera Moorthy, Eastside Secondary School.
(L to R, front row): Mandy Savery-Whiteway, Director of Education; Shannon Binder, Southeast Hastings and Chair of the Board; and Lisa Anne Chatten, Belleville/Thurlow and Vice-chair of the Board.


Standing committees
Trustees selected membership on standing committees. For 2019, standing committees will consist of the following members:

Statutory committees
Trustees selected membership on statutory committees. For 2019, statutory committees will consist of the following members:

Administrative committees
Trustees selected membership on administrative committees. For 2019, administrative committees will consist of the following members:

External committees


Board members approved the following local association appointments to the Special Education Advisory Committee for a four-year term of the Board beginning December 3, 2018:

Board members also approved Benzie Sangma as a member-at-large for the same timeframe.

Upcoming meetings

All meetings take place at the Education Centre unless otherwise noted.

For more information, please contact Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer, extension 62354, [email protected]