Newsroom

Seeking input for the 2016-2017 School Year Calendar

Posted January 19, 2016—Each spring school boards are required to establish a school year calendar for the upcoming school year, in accordance with the Education Act and Regulation 304.

Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board consults with parents/guardians, students, community members and community partners prior to finalizing the dates.

The draft calendar proposes the following dates (pdf version)

  • First day of school for students: Tuesday, September 6, 2016
  • Christmas Break: Monday, December 26, 2016 to Friday January 6, 2017
  • Mid-winter Break: Monday, March 13 to Friday, March 17, 2017
  • Seven professional activity (PA) days:
    • Friday, September 23, 2016
    • Friday, October 28, 2016
    • Friday, November 25, 2016
    • Friday, February 3, 2017
    • Friday, March 3, 2017
    • Friday, May 19, 2017
    • Friday, June 30, 2017
  • Last day of the school year: Thursday, June 29, 2017

Please provide feedback by sending an email to curriculum.services@hpedsb.on.ca or by calling 613.966.1170 or 1.800.267.4350 by Friday, January 29, 2016.

For more information, please contact:
Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer, 613-966-1170 or 1.800.267-4350, extension 2354, kdonnell@hpedsb.on.ca

Last updated: January 19, 2016 at 3:34 pm