Understanding the role of a school board trustee, September 2015

Trustees and student trustees of Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board.

This is the first in a series of articles about school board trustees. A different article will be featured each month.

DID YOU KNOW . . . that school trustees were the first democratically elected representatives in Ontario? This is a history that began in 1816.

Trustees are the elected/appointed representatives for a defined area. Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board has 10 trustees. Nine are elected and one is appointed by the Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte.

Trustees are collectively charged with governing the Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board
through: accountability, community representation, decision making, communication, advocacy and leadership.

Trustees for 2014 – 2018
Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board is proud to have the following trustees:

  • Dwayne Inch, South Prince Edward County & Chair of the Board
  • Lucille Kyle, North Hastings & Vice-Chair of the Board
  • Tom Biniaris, Trenton & CFB Trenton
  • Mike Brant, Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte
  • Justin Bray, Southeast Hastings
  • Jennifer Cobb, North Prince Edward County
  • Bonnie Danes, Centre Hastings
  • Mary Hall, Belleville & Thurlow
  • Dave Patterson, Belleville & Thurlow
  • Jim Williams, Frankford & Sidney

As a member of the Board, an individual trustee is expected to act within the Board’s by-laws, be loyal to the Board’s decisions and abide by the Code of Conduct. As elected persons, trustees are also expected to advocate for the interests of their constituencies.

Student trustees for the 2014-2015 school year
Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board also has two student trustees who represent the interests of the student body at meetings of the Board. They are not members of the Board and are not entitled to exercise a binding vote but they have the same opportunities for participation at meetings of the board.

The 2014-2015 student trustees are:

  • Lauren Barry, Centre Hastings Secondary School
  • Morgan Hillier, Moira Secondary School

Sources: Report of the Governance Review Committee to the Minister of Education of Ontario, April, 2009 and Good Governance: A Guide for Trustees, School Boards, Directors of Education and Communities, 2014.

For more information, please contact:
Kerry Donnell, Communications Officer, 613-966-1170 or 1 800 267-4350, extension 2354, [email protected]

Last updated: September 2, 2015 at 2:35 pm
Powered by Translate